信息
您所需的主题如下所示。但此主题未包含在此库中。

应用生命周期

[ 本文适用于编写 Windows 运行时应用的 Windows 8.x 和 Windows Phone 8.x 开发人员。如果你要针对 Windows 10 进行开发,请参阅 最新文档 ]

本主题介绍了 Windows 运行时应用的生命周期,从部署它一直到删除它。通过正确地启动、暂停和恢复你的应用,可确保客户拥有最佳应用体验。

应用执行状态

此图表现了应用执行状态之间的转换。我们在后面几部分中介绍了这些状态和事件。有关每个状态转换以及你的应用应如何响应的详细信息,请参阅有关 ApplicationExecutionState 枚举的参考文档。

显示应用执行状态之间转换的状态图

部署

为了能够以任何方式激活应用,必须先对其进行部署。在以下情况下应特别注意进行基本部署:当用户安装你的应用时,或者当你使用 Visual Studio 以在开发和测试期间本地构建并运行自己的应用时。有关此部署以及高级部署方案的详细信息,请参阅应用包和部署

应用启动

每当用户激活一个应用而且该应用进程之前处于 NotRunning 状态时,它就会启动。应用可能处于 NotRunning 状态,原因有:它从未启动、它运行后出现了故障,或者它在暂停后无法保留在内存中而被系统终止。

当应用启动时,Windows 显示应用的一个初始屏幕。若要配置此初始屏幕,请参阅“添加初始屏幕”(HTMLXAML)。

当初始屏幕显示时,应用代码还应该确保该应用已准备好向用户显示其用户界面。应用的主要任务是注册事件处理程序和设置它需要加载初始页面的任何自定义 UI。这些任务仅应占用几秒的时间。如果某个应用需要从网络请求数据或者需要从磁盘检索大量的数据,这些活动应在激活以外完成。应用在等待完成这些长时间运行的操作时,可以使用自己的自定义加载 UI 或延长的初始屏幕。有关详细信息,请参阅“如何延长初始屏幕”(HTMLXAML)以及初始屏幕示例。在应用完成激活后,它将进入 Running 状态,随后初始屏幕将消失(并且其所有资源和对象将被清除)。显示一个窗口、从激活处理程序返回,以及完成一定的延期,这些是应用完成激活的具体方式。有关详细信息,请参阅“如何激活应用”(HTMLXAML)。

应用激活

应用可以由用户通过各种合约和扩展激活。若要参与激活,则必须将你的应用注册为接收 WinJS activated 事件 (HTML) 或覆盖 OnActivated 方法 (XAML)。(对于 HTML,WebUIApplication.activated 是另一个可用于处理激活的事件。)

你的应用的激活代码可以通过测试了解其激活原因以及是否已经处于 Running 状态。应用可以使用以下任意激活类型进行激活:

激活类型 说明
缓存的文件用户希望保存你的应用对其进行内容管理的文件。
相机用户希望通过所连的相机拍照或捕获视频。
联系人选取器用户希望挑选联系人。
设备用户希望你的应用能处理自动播放
文件用户的应用启动一个文件,该文件的类型是应用已注册可处理的类型。
文件打开选取器用户希望挑选应用提供的文件或文件夹。
文件保存选取器用户希望保存文件并选择了你的应用。
启动用户启动应用或点击一个内容磁贴。
打印任务用户希望你的应用处理打印任务。
协议用户的应用启动一个 URL,其协议是应用已注册可处理的协议。
搜索用户希望搜索你的应用。
共享目标用户希望你的应用作为共享操作的目标。

 

为 Windows 8.1 及更高版本生成的应用可以使用上述任意方式激活,也可以使用这些激活类型激活。

激活类型 说明
添加约会用户希望向其日历中添加约会。还在 Windows Phone 上受支持。
删除约会用户希望从其日历中删除约会。还在 Windows Phone 上受支持。
替换约会用户希望替换其日历中的约会。还在 Windows Phone 上受支持。
显示期限用户希望在其日历上显示特定的期限。还在 Windows Phone 上受支持。
呼叫联系人用户希望呼叫联系人。
定位联系人用户希望定位联系人(获取联系人的位置)。
向联系人发送消息用户希望向联系人发送消息。
发布联系人用户希望发布联系人。
通过视频呼叫联系人用户希望通过视频呼叫联系人。
锁屏通话用户希望在锁屏状态下接受呼叫。
限制启动用户启动了受限制的应用。

 

可以使用这些类型激活 Windows Phone 应用。

激活类型 说明
VoiceCommand 作为语音命令的结果,已激活应用程序。
PickerReturned 选择选取器后,应用程序已被激活。
WalletAction 已激活应用程序以执行电子钱包操作。
PickFileContinuation 为文件选取器操作暂停应用后,应用程序已激活。
PickSaveFileContinuation 为文件保存选取器操作暂停应用后,应用程序已激活。
PickFolderContinuation 为文件夹选取器操作暂停应用后,应用程序已激活。
WebAuthenticationBrokerContinuation 为 Web 身份验证代理操作暂停应用后,应用程序已激活。

 

当操作系统终止你的应用后用户又重新启动它时,你的应用可以使用激活还原以前保存的数据。Windows 在应用暂停后可能出于一些原因而将其终止。用户可以手动关闭你的应用或者注销,否则系统的资源可能不足。如果用户在 Windows 终止你的应用之后启动它,该应用将收到一个 activated 事件 (HTML) 或 Application.OnActivated 回调 (XAML),并且用户将看到应用的初始屏幕,直到该应用激活为止。你可以通过此事件确定你的应用是否需要还原其在上次暂停时保存的数据,或者是否必须加载应用的默认数据。由于初始屏幕已出现,因此你的应用代码可以在不明显拖延用户时间的情况下花费一些处理时间来完成此激活操作,然而在重新启动或继续该操作时前面所提到的关于运行时间较长的操作的问题仍存在。activated/OnActivated 事件数据包括一个 PreviousExecutionState 属性,用于告诉你应用在激活之前处于哪种状态。此属性是 ApplicationExecutionState 枚举中的值之一:

终止原因 PreviousExecutionState 属性的值采取的操作
已由系统终止(例如,因为资源限制)Terminated 还原会话数据
被用户关闭或被用户终止进程ClosedByUser 使用默认数据启动
意外终止,或者应用在当前用户会话期间未运行NotRunning使用默认数据启动

 

注意  当前用户会话基于 Windows 登录。只要当前用户未显式注销、关闭当前用户会话,或者 Windows 未出于其他原因而重新启动它,该会话便可以保留在诸如锁屏身份验证、切换用户等多个事件中。
 

PreviousExecutionState 还可能有 RunningSuspended 值,但在这些情况下,你的应用不是之前终止的,因此不必担心还原数据。

注意  

如果你使用计算机的管理员帐户登录,则你将无法激活任何 Windows 运行时应用。

有关详细信息,请参阅应用扩展

OnActivated 与 XAML 应用中的特定激活的对比

在 XAML 激活模型和 Application 类 中,可使用 OnActivated 方法来处理所有可能的激活类型。但是,更常见的做法是使用不同的方法来处理最常见的激活类型,而对于不太常见的激活类型,则仅使用 OnActivated 作为回滚方法。例如, Application 具有 OnLaunched 方法,用于在 ActivationKindLaunch 时作为回调进行调用,这是适用于大多数应用的典型激活方法。有超过 6 种 On* 方法可用于特定的激活:OnCachedFileUpdaterActivatedOnFileActivatedOnFileOpenPickerActivatedOnFileSavePickerActivatedOnSearchActivatedOnShareTargetActivated。XAML 应用的起始模板具有一个针对 OnLaunched 的实现和一个适用于 Suspending 的处理程序,并且兼具每个模板中预定义的 SuspensionManager 类中的这两种合并方法。对于 SuspensionManager 的作用的描述在本主题的范围内;有关详细信息,请参阅适用于应用的 C#、VB 和 C++ 项目模板

应用暂停

应用可在用户离开它或设备进入电量不足状态时暂停。大部分应用会在用户离开它们时暂停。

当用户将一个应用移动到后台时,Windows 将等待几秒,以查看用户是否打算立即返回该应用。如果用户未在此时间范围内切换回,Windows 将暂停该应用。

如果应用已经为 WinJS checkpoint 事件(适用于 HTML)或 Application.Suspending 事件(适用于 XAML)注册一个事件处理程序,则在暂停该应用之前立即调用此代码。你可以使用事件处理程序保存相关应用和用户数据。我们建议使用应用程序数据 API 完成此目的,因为它们可保证在应用进入 Suspended 状态之前完成工作。有关详细信息,请参阅使用 Windows 运行时访问应用数据。你还应释放独占资源和文件句柄,这样在你的应用没有使用它们时其他应用可以访问。

通常,你的应用应该在处理暂停事件时立即保存其状态并释放其独占资源和文件句柄,并且此代码最多只需 1 秒便可完成工作。如果应用在 Windows 上未在 5 秒内和在 Windows Phone 上未在 1 至 10 秒之间从暂停事件中返回,则 Windows 假设应用已停止响应并终止该应用。

Windows 会尝试在内存中保留尽可能多的暂停应用。通过将这些应用保留在内存中,可确保用户在已暂停的应用之间快速且可靠地切换。但是,如果没有足够的资源将应用保留在内存中,则 Windows 可能会终止你的应用。应用不会收到它们被终止的通知,所以你保存应用数据的唯一机会是在挂起期间。当应用确定它在终止后被激活时,它应该加载它在暂停期间保存的应用程序数据,以使其按照暂停前的方式运行。

有些应用必须继续运行才能完成后台任务。例如,你的应用可以在后台继续播放音频;有关详细信息,请参阅“如何在后台播放音频”(HTMLXAML)。此外,即使你的应用暂停甚至终止,后台传输操作仍将继续;有关详细信息,请参阅“如何下载文件”(HTMLXAML)。

有关指南,请参阅应用暂停和恢复指南

有关示例代码,请参阅“如何暂停应用”(HTMLXAML)。

应用可见性

当用户从你的应用切换到其他应用时,你的应用将不再可见,但仍保持 Running 状态,直到 Windows 可以暂停它为止。如果用户离开你的应用,但在暂停它之前又激活或返回到该应用,它会保持 Running 状态。

当应用可见性更改时,你的应用不会收到激活事件,因为它仍在运行中。Windows 只需根据需要来回切换应用即可。如果你的应用需要在用户离开和返回时执行某些操作,则可以处理 visibilitychange 事件 (HTML) 或 Window.VisibilityChanged 事件 (XAML)。

可见性事件不按暂停/恢复或激活事件排序。不要假定这些事件按特定的顺序传入。

应用恢复

暂停的应用在用户切换到该应用或设备从电量不足状态恢复时恢复。

有关应用在恢复时所处状态的枚举,请参阅 ApplicationExecutionState。应用从 Suspended 状态恢复时,它会进入 Running 状态并从暂停的位置和时间处继续运行。 不会丢失任何应用数据,但前提是数据是保存在内存中的。因此,大多数应用在恢复时不需要执行任何操作。但是,应用可能暂停数小时甚至数天。因此,如果应用拥有可能已过时的内容或网络连接,这些内容或网络连接应该在应用恢复时刷新。如果应用已经为 WebUIApplication.resuming 事件 (HTML) 或 Application.Resuming 事件 (XAML) 注册一个事件处理程序,则在应用从 Suspended 状态恢复时调用它。你可以使用该事件处理程序刷新应用内容和数据。

注意  

具体而言,HTML 应用通常不需要专门处理 resuming,因为 activated 将在相同的情况下触发。你可以使用 activated 事件数据中的 ActivationKind 信息来确定是否恢复应用;此模式在起始项目模板的 default.js 文件中显示。

 

如果激活暂停的应用以加入一个应用合约或扩展,它会首先收到 Resuming 事件,然后收到 Activated 事件。

当应用暂停时,它不会收到它注册接收的网络事件。这些事件没有排队,所以它们会丢失。因此,你的应用应该在恢复时测试网络状态。

有关指南,请参阅应用暂停和恢复指南

有关示例代码,请参阅“如何恢复应用”(HTMLXAML)。

注意  在 Windows Phone 应用商店应用中,对于 XAML 应用,每次用户从“开始”磁贴或应用列表启动应用时都会调用 OnLaunched,即使该应用当前在内存中已暂停也是如此。在 Windows 上,从“开始”磁贴或应用列表启动暂停的应用不会调用此方法。

应用关闭

通常,用户不需要关闭应用,他们可以让 Windows 管理它们。但是,用户可以选择以下方法来关闭应用:使用关闭手势,在 Windows 上按 Alt+F4,或在 Windows Phone 上使用任务切换器。你不能在应用中包括任何 UI 以让用户关闭应用,否则该应用不会通过应用商店的认证过程。

没有任何特殊事件指示用户已关闭应用。

在用户关闭应用之后,它将被暂停并终止,然后进入 NotRunning 状态。

在 Windows 8.1 以及更高版本中,在用户关闭应用之后,该应用将从屏幕中移除并切换列表,但并未显式终止。

注意  如果你的应用依赖于 Windows 8 的用户关闭行为,则在将系统升级到 Windows 8.1 时可在此应用中启用此行为。若要启用 Windows 8 的用户关闭行为,请使用 ApplicationView.TerminateAppOnFinalViewClose 属性将你的 Windows 8.1 应用设置为在最后一个窗口关闭后终止。

如果应用已经为 Suspending 事件注册了一个事件处理程序,该处理程序将在应用暂停时调用。你可以使用此事件处理程序将相关应用程序和用户数据保存到持久性存储中。

用户关闭行为:  建议你决定当用户关闭应用后再激活应用时,应用具有的行为。应用被 Windows 终止或被用户终止可能没有任何区别。如果应用在被用户关闭时需要执行与被 Windows 关闭时不同的操作,你可以使用激活事件处理程序确定应用是被用户终止的还是被 Windows 终止的。请参阅 ApplicationExecutionState 枚举参考中 ClosedByUserTerminated 状态的说明。如果你要维护一个 Windows 8 应用,请注意处理 ClosedByUser 的方式可能与 Windows 8.1 应用所使用的方式不同。

我们建议,应用不要以编程方式自行关闭,除非绝对必要。例如,如果应用检测到内存泄漏,它可以关闭自己来确保用户个人数据的安全。当你以编程方式关闭应用时,系统会将此视为应用崩溃。

应用故障

应用需要遵守系统故障体验,只需返回到“开始”屏幕。系统故障体验旨在让用户尽快返回执行的操作,因此不应提供警告对话框或其他通知,因为这会拖延用户的时间。应用消失应清楚地告诉用户出现了问题。

如果你的应用出现故障、停止响应或者发生意外,Windows 将请求用户同意向 Microsoft 发送问题报告。Microsoft 在问题报告中向你提供错误数据的一个子集,这样你可以使用这些数据改进你的应用。你可以在“仪表板”中应用的“质量”页面中看到此数据。

当用户在应用发生崩溃之后激活该应用时,其激活事件处理程序将收到 NotRunningApplicationExecutionState 值,并且应显示其初始 UI 和数据。崩溃后,请勿经常使用原本将用于 ResumingSuspended 的应用数据,因为该数据可能已损坏;请参阅应用暂停和恢复指南

应用删除

当用户删除你的应用时,会一同删除应用及其所有本地数据。删除应用不会影响存储在公用位置的用户数据,例如文档或图片库中的文件。

应用生命周期和 Visual Studio 项目模板

对于 HTML 或 XAML 应用,在起始 Visual Studio 项目模板中提供了与应用生命周期相关的基本代码。基本代码可处理启动激活,甚至可以在添加任何你自己的代码之前显示其主要 UI。有关详细信息,请参阅适用于应用商店应用的 JavaScript 项目模板适用于应用的 C#、VB 以及 C++ 项目模板

应用程序生命周期中的关键 API

相关主题

应用暂停和恢复指南
应用的激活、恢复和暂停示例 (JavaScript)

 

 

显示:

Export (0) Print
Expand All
Information
The topic you requested is included in another documentation set. For convenience, it's displayed below. Choose Switch to see the topic in its original location.

App lifecycle

This topic describes the lifecycle of a Windows Runtime app, from the time it is deployed through its removal. By launching, suspending, and resuming your app appropriately, you ensure that your customer has the best possible experience with your app.

App execution state

This illustration represents the transitions between app execution states. We describe these states and events in the next several sections. For more info about each state transition and what your app should do in response, see the reference for the ApplicationExecutionState enumeration.

State diagram showing transitions between app execution states

Deployment

In order for an app to be activated in any way, it must first be deployed. Basic deployment is taken care of either when a user installs your app or when you use Visual Studio to build and run your app locally during development and testing. For more info on this and on advanced deployment scenarios, see App packages and deployment.

App launch

An app is launched whenever it is activated by the user and the app process was previously in the NotRunning state. An app could be in the NotRunning state because it has never been launched, because it was running but then crashed, or because it was suspended but then couldn't be kept in memory and was terminated by the system.

When an app is launched, Windows displays a splash screen for the app. To configure this splash screen, see "Adding a splash screen" (HTML or XAML).

While the splash screen is displayed, your app code should ensure that the app is ready for its user interface to be displayed to the user. The primary tasks for the app are to register event handlers and set up any custom UI it needs for loading the initial page. These tasks should only take a few seconds. If an app needs to request data from the network or needs to retrieve large amounts of data from disk, these activities should be completed outside of activation. An app can use its own custom loading UI or an extended splash screen while it waits for these long running operations to finish. See "How to extend the splash screen" (HTML or XAML) and the Splash screen sample for more info. After the app completes activation, it enters the Running state and the splash screen disappears (and all its resources and objects are cleared). Showing a window, returning from the activation handler, and completing a deferral are specific ways that an app completes activation. For more info, see "How to activate an app" (HTML or XAML).

App activation

An app can be activated by the user through a variety of contracts and extensions. To participate in activation, your app must register to receive the WinJS activated event (HTML) or override the OnActivated method (XAML). (For HTML, WebUIApplication.activated is another event you can handle for activation.)

Your app's activation code can test to see why it was activated and whether it was already in the Running state. Apps can be activated using any of these activation types:

Activation type Description
cached fileThe user wants to save a file that your app provides content management for.
cameraThe user wants to capture photos or video from an attached camera.
contact pickerThe user wants to pick contacts.
deviceThe user wants your app to handle AutoPlay.
fileA user's app launched a file whose file type your app is registered to handle.
file open pickerThe user wants to pick files or folders that are provided by your app.
file save pickerThe user wants to save a file and has selected your app.
launchThe user launched your app or tapped a content tile.
print taskThe user wants your app to handle print tasks.
protocolA user's app launched a URL whose protocol your app is registered to handle.
searchThe user wants to search with your app.
share targetThe user wants your app to be target for a share operation.

 

Apps that are built for Windows 8.1 and later can be activated by any of the above, or can be activated with these activation types.

Activation type Description
add appointmentThe user wants to add an appointment to their calendar. Also supported on Windows Phone.
remove appointmentThe user wants to remove an appointment from their calendar. Also supported on Windows Phone.
replace appointmentThe user wants to replace an appointment from their calendar. Also supported on Windows Phone.
show time frameThe user wants to show a specific time frame on their calendar. Also supported on Windows Phone.
contact callThe user wants to call a contact.
contact mapThe user wants to map (get the location of) a contact.
contact messageThe user wants to send a message to a contact.
contact postThe user wants to post a contact.
contact video callThe user wants to video-call a contact.
lock-screen callThe user wants to accept a call from the lock screen.
restricted launchThe user launched your restricted app.

 

Windows Phone apps can be activated with these types.

Activation type Description
VoiceCommand The application was activated as the result of a voice command.
PickerReturned The application was activated after the completion of a picker.
WalletAction The application was activated to perform a Wallet operation.
PickFileContinuation The application was activated after the app was suspended for a file picker operation.
PickSaveFileContinuation The application was activated after the app was suspended for a file save picker operation.
PickFolderContinuation The application was activated after the app was suspended for a folder picker operation.
WebAuthenticationBrokerContinuation The application was activated after the app was suspended for a web authentication broker operation.

 

Your app can use activation to restore previously saved data in the event that the operating system terminates your app, and subsequently the user re-launches it. Windows may terminate your app after it has been suspended for a number of reasons. The user may manually close your app, or sign out, or the system may be running low on resources. If the user launches your app after Windows has terminated it, the app receives an activated event (HTML) or Application.OnActivated callback (XAML) and the user sees the splash screen of your app until the app is activated. You can use this event to determine whether your app needs to restore the data which it had saved when it was last suspended, or whether you must load your app’s default data. Because the splash screen is up, your app code can invest some processing time to get this done without there being any apparent delay to the user, but previously-mentioned concerns about long-running operations also apply if you're restarting or continuing. The activated/OnActivated event data includes a PreviousExecutionState property that tells you which state your app was in before it was activated. This property is one of the values from the ApplicationExecutionState enumeration:

Reason for terminationValue of PreviousExecutionState propertyAction to take
Terminated by the system (for example, because of resource constraints)Terminated Restore session data
Closed by the user, or process-terminated by userClosedByUser Start with default data
Unexpectedly terminated, or app has not run during the current user sessionNotRunningStart with default data

 

Note  Current user session is based on Windows logon. So long as the current user hasn't explicitly logged off, shut down, or Windows hasn't restarted for other reasons, the current user session persists across events such as lock screen authentication, switch-user and so on.

PreviousExecutionState could also have a value of Running or Suspended, but in these cases your app was not previously terminated and therefore you don’t have to worry about restoring data.

Note  

If you log on using the computer's Administrator account, you can't activate any Windows Runtime app.

For more info, see App extensions.

OnActivated versus specific activations in a XAML app

For the XAML activation model and Application class, the OnActivated method is the means to handle all possible activation types. However, it's more common to use different methods to handle the most common activation types, and use OnActivated only as the fallback method for the less common activation types. For example, Application has an OnLaunched method that's invoked as a callback whenever ActivationKind is Launch, and this is the typical activation for most apps. There are 6 more On* methods for specific activations: OnCachedFileUpdaterActivated, OnFileActivated, OnFileOpenPickerActivated, OnFileSavePickerActivated, OnSearchActivated, OnShareTargetActivated. Starting templates for a XAML app have an implementation for OnLaunched and a handler for Suspending, with both of these incorporating methods from the SuspensionManager class that comes predefined in each template. Describing what SuspensionManager does is outside the scope of this topic; for more info see C#, VB, and C++ project templates for apps.

App suspend

An app can be suspended when the user switches away from it or when the device enters a low power state. Most apps are suspended when the user switches away from them.

When the user moves an app to the background, Windows waits a few seconds to see whether the user immediately switches back to the app. If the user does not switch back within this time window, Windows suspends the app.

If an app has registered an event handler for the WinJS checkpoint event (for HTML) or the Application.Suspending event (for XAML), this code is called immediately before the app is suspended. You can use the event handler to save relevant app and user data. We recommended that you use the application data APIs for this purpose because they are guaranteed to complete before the app enters the Suspended state. For more info, see Accessing app data with the Windows Runtime. You should also release exclusive resources and file handles so that other apps can access them while your app isn't using them.

Generally, your app should save its state and release its exclusive resources and file handles immediately when handling the suspending event, and the code should not take more than a second to complete. If an app does not return from the suspending event within 5 seconds on Windows and between 1 and 10 seconds on Windows Phone, Windows assumes that the app has stopped responding and terminates it.

Windows attempts to keep as many suspended apps in memory as possible. Keeping these apps in memory ensures that users can quickly and reliably switch between suspended apps. However, if there aren't enough resources to keep your app in memory, Windows can terminate your app. Individual apps don't receive notification that they are being terminated, so the only opportunity you have to save your app's data is during suspension. When an app determines that it is activated after being terminated, it should load the application data that it saved during suspend so that the app functions as it did before it was suspended.

There are some app scenarios where the app must continue to run to complete background tasks. For example, your app can continue to play audio in the background; for more info, see "How to play audio in the background" (HTML or XAML). Also, background transfer operations continue even if your app is suspended or even terminated; for more info, see "How to download a file" (HTML or XAML).

For guidelines, see Guidelines for app suspend and resume.

For example code, see "How to suspend an app" (HTML or XAML).

App visibility

When the user switches from your app to another app, your app is no longer visible but remains in the Running state until Windows can suspend it. If the user switches away from your app but activates or switches back to it before it can suspended, the app remains in the Running state.

Your app doesn't receive an activation event when app visibility changes, because the app is still running. Windows simply switches to and from the app as necessary. If your app needs to do something when the user switches away and back, it can handle the visibilitychange event (for HTML) or Window.VisibilityChanged event (for XAML).

The visibility event is not serialized with the suspend/resume or activation events. Don't assume that these events come in a particular order.

App resume

A suspended app is resumed when the user switches to it or when the device comes out of a low power state.

For an enumeration of the states that your app can be in when your app is resumed, see ApplicationExecutionState. When an app is resumed from the Suspended state, it enters the Running state and continues from where it was when it was suspended. No app data is lost, so long as it was stored in memory. Therefore, most apps don't need to do anything when they are resumed. However, the app could have been suspended for hours or even days. So if your app has content or network connections that may have gone stale, these should be refreshed when the app resumes. If an app registered an event handler for the WebUIApplication.resuming event (HTML) or Application.Resuming event (XAML), it is called when the app is resumed from the Suspended state. You can refresh your app content and data using this event handler.

Note  

HTML apps usually don't need to handle resuming specifically, because activated fires in the same circumstances. You can use ActivationKind info from the activated event data to determine whether the app is resuming; this pattern is shown in the default.js file for starting project templates.

If a suspended app is activated to participate in an app contract or extension, it receives the Resuming event first, then the Activated event.

When an app is suspended, it does not receive network events that it registered to receive. These events are not queued, they are simply missed. Therefore, your app should test the network status when it is resumed.

For guidelines, see Guidelines for app suspend and resume.

For example code, see "How to resume an app" (HTML or XAML).

Note  In Windows Phone Store apps, for a XAML app, OnLaunched is called each time the user launches the app from Start tile or app list, even when the app is currently suspended in memory. On Windows, launching a suspended app from Start tile or app list doesn’t call this method.

App close

Generally, users don't need to close apps, they can let Windows manage them. However, users can choose to close an app using the close gesture or by pressing Alt+F4 on Windows or by using the task switcher on Windows Phone. You can't include any UI in your app to enable the user to close your app, or it won't pass the Store certification process.

There's no special event to indicate that the user has closed an app.

After an app has been closed by the user, it's suspended and terminated, and then enters the NotRunning state.

In Windows 8.1 and later, after an app has been closed by the user, the app is removed from the screen and switch list but not explicitly terminated.

Note  If your app depends on the closed-by-user behavior of Windows 8, you can enable this behavior in your app when you upgrade it to Windows 8.1. To enable the closed-by-user behavior of Windows 8, set your Windows 8.1 app to terminate when the last window is closed with the ApplicationView.TerminateAppOnFinalViewClose property.

If an app has registered an event handler for the Suspending event, it is called when the app is suspended. You can use this event handler to save relevant application and user data to persistent storage.

Closed-by-user behavior:  We recommend that you decide how your app behaves when it's activated after being closed by the user. It may make no difference to you whether the app was terminated by Windows or by the user. If your app needs to do something different when it is closed by the user than when it is closed by Windows, you can use the activation event handler to determine whether the app was terminated by the user or by Windows. See the descriptions of ClosedByUser and Terminated states in the reference for the ApplicationExecutionState enumeration. If you're maintaining a Windows 8 app, note that the handling for ClosedByUser is potentially different than for a Windows 8.1 app.

We recommend that apps not close themselves programmatically unless absolutely necessary. For example, if an app detects a memory leak, it can close itself to ensure the security of the user's personal data. When you close an app programmatically, the system treats this as an app crash.

App crash

Apps are required to follow the system crash experience, which is to simply return to the Start screen. The system crash experience is designed to get users back to what they were doing as quickly as possible, so you shouldn't provide a warning dialog or other notification because that'll cause a delay for the user. The disappearance of the app should make it clear to the user that something went wrong.

If your app crashes, stops responding, or generates an exception, Windows asks the user for consent to send a problem report to Microsoft. Microsoft provides a subset of the error data in the problem report to you so that you can use it to improve your app. You'll be able to see this data in your app's Quality page in your Dashboard.

When the user activates an app after it crashes, its activation event handler receives an ApplicationExecutionState value of NotRunning, and should display its initial UI and data. After a crash, don't routinely use the app data you would have used for Resuming with Suspended because that data could be corrupt; see Guidelines for app suspend and resume.

App removal

When a user deletes your app, the app is removed, along with all its local data. Removing an app doesn't affect the user's data that was stored in common locations, such as files in the Documents or Pictures libraries.

App lifecycle and the Visual Studio project templates

For either HTML or XAML apps, basic code that is relevant for app lifecycle is provided in the starting Visual Studio project templates. The basic app handles launch activation and displays its primary UI even before you've added any of your own code. For more info, see JavaScript project templates for Store apps or C#, VB, and C++ project templates for apps.

Application lifecycle key APIs

Related topics

Guidelines for app suspend and resume
App activated, resume, and suspend sample (JavaScript)

 

 

Show:
© 2015 Microsoft