Updated: August 27, 2013

Applies To: Windows 8, Windows 8.1

The ServiceCategorylist element specifies one or more functional categories that apply to the service. Each functional category is specified through a ServiceCategory element.


  child element


There are no attributes.

Text value

Must contain one ServiceCategory element.

Child elements


Element Description


Specifies one or more functional categories that apply to the service.

Parent elements


Element Description


The ServiceInfo element is the parent element of the ServiceInfo XML schema.


<xs:element name="ServiceCategoryList" type="tns:ServiceCategoryListType" />

<xs:complexType name="ServiceCategoryListType">
    <xs:element name="ServiceCategory" type="tns:ServiceCategoryType" maxOccurs="unbounded" />
    <xs:any namespace="##other" processContents="lax" minOccurs="0" maxOccurs="unbounded" />


The following discusses the use of the ServiceCategoryList elements in a service metadata package:

  • The first ServiceCategory element in the ServiceCategoryList element specifies the service’s primary functional category. The primary functional category should match how the service is advertised, packaged, sold, and ultimately identified by users.

  • Because a service is defined only by its primary functional category, you should specify only one instance of the ServiceCategory element in the ServiceCategoryList element.

  • The ServiceCategory for service metadata packages must be one of the following:

    • Network.MobileBroadband

    • Network.MobileBroadband.CDMA

    • Network.MobileBroadband.GSM

The ServiceCategoryList element is required.

© 2015 Microsoft