Windows apps
Collapse the table of content
Expand the table of content
The topic you requested is included in another documentation set. For convenience, it's displayed below. Choose Switch to see the topic in its original location.

Device Context Types

There are four types of DCs: display, printer, memory (or compatible), and information. Each type serves a specific purpose, as described in the following table.

Device contextDescription
Display Supports drawing operations on a video display.
Printer Supports drawing operations on a printer or plotter.
Memory Supports drawing operations on a bitmap.
Information Supports the retrieval of device data.




© 2017 Microsoft