This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

XmlTextWriter.Indentation Property

Gets or sets how many IndentChars to write for each level in the hierarchy when Formatting is set to Formatting.Indented.

Namespace:  System.Xml
Assembly:  System.Xml (in System.Xml.dll)

public int Indentation { get; set; }

Property Value

Type: System.Int32
Number of IndentChars for each level. The default is 2.


Setting this property to a negative value.


In the .NET Framework version 2.0 release, the recommended practice is to create XmlWriter instances using the XmlWriter.Create method and the XmlWriterSettings class. This allows you to take full advantage of all the new features introduced in this release. For more information, see Creating XML Writers.

Indentation is performed on following node types: DocumentType, Element, Comment, ProcessingInstruction, and CDATASection. All other node types are not affected. The XmlTextWriter does not indent the internal DTD subset. However, you could do the following to apply formatting to the internal DTD subset.

 String name = "Employees";
 String pubid = null;
 String sysid = null;
 String subset =
     <!ELEMENT Employees (Employee)+>
     <!ELEMENT Employee EMPTY>
     <!ATTLIST Employee firstname CDATA #REQUIRED>
     <!ENTITY Company 'Microsoft'>]>
 XmlTextWriter tw = new XmlTextWriter(Console.Out);
 tw.WriteDocType(name, pubid, sysid, subset);

The following example writes an XML fragment.

using System;
using System.IO;
using System.Xml;

public class Sample

  public static void Main()
     //Create a writer to write XML to the console.
     XmlTextWriter writer = null;
     writer = new XmlTextWriter (Console.Out);

     //Use indentation for readability.
     writer.Formatting = Formatting.Indented;
     writer.Indentation = 4;

     //Write an element (this one is the root).

     //Write the title element.
     writer.WriteString("Pride And Prejudice");

     //Write the close tag for the root element.

     //Write the XML to file and close the writer.



.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.