This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

Login.FailureAction Property

Gets or sets the action that occurs when a login attempt fails.

Namespace:  System.Web.UI.WebControls
Assembly:  System.Web (in System.Web.dll)

public virtual LoginFailureAction FailureAction { get; set; }
<asp:Login FailureAction="LoginFailureAction" />

Property Value

Type: System.Web.UI.WebControls.LoginFailureAction
One of the LoginFailureAction enumeration values. The default is Refresh.


The selected value is not one of the LoginFailureAction enumeration values.

The FailureAction property defines the behavior of the Login control when the user does not successfully log in to the Web site.

The default behavior reloads the page and displays the contents of the FailureText property to alert the user that the login attempt failed.

When FailureAction is set to RedirectToLoginPage, the user is redirected to the login page defined in the Web.config file.

This property cannot be set by themes or style sheet themes. For more information, see ThemeableAttribute and ASP.NET Themes and Skins Overview.

The following code example shows how to set the FailureAction property both declaratively and in code.

<%@ Page Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="False"%>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "">

<script runat="server">
void Page_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    Login1.FailureAction = LoginFailureAction.RedirectToLoginPage;


<html xmlns="" >
    <head runat="server">
    <title>ASP.NET Example</title>
        <form id="form1" runat="server">
            <asp:Login id="Login1" runat="server" FailureAction="RedirectToLoginPage"></asp:Login>

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0