This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

FaultBinding Class

Specifies the format for any error messages that might be output as a result of the operation. This class cannot be inherited.

Namespace:  System.Web.Services.Description
Assembly:  System.Web.Services (in System.Web.Services.dll)

public sealed class FaultBinding : MessageBinding

The FaultBinding class corresponds to the Web Services Description Language (WSDL) <fault> element enclosed by the <operation> element, which in turn corresponds to the OperationBinding class. For more information about WSDL, see the specification at

The following example demonstrates a typical use of the FaultBinding class.

FaultBindingCollection myFaultBindingCollection = myOperationBinding.Faults;
FaultBinding myFaultBinding = new FaultBinding();
myFaultBinding.Name = "ErrorString";
// Associate SOAP fault binding to the fault binding of the operation.
myExtensions = myFaultBinding.Extensions;
SoapFaultBinding mySoapFaultBinding = new SoapFaultBinding();
mySoapFaultBinding.Use = SoapBindingUse.Literal;
mySoapFaultBinding.Namespace = "";
FaultBindingCollection * myFaultBindingCollection = myOperationBinding->Faults;
FaultBinding* myFaultBinding = new FaultBinding();
myFaultBinding->Name = S"ErrorString";
// Associate SOAP fault binding to the fault binding of the operation.
myExtensions = myFaultBinding->Extensions;
SoapFaultBinding* mySoapFaultBinding = new SoapFaultBinding();
mySoapFaultBinding->Use = SoapBindingUse::Literal;
mySoapFaultBinding->Namespace = S"";

Any public static (Shared in Visual Basic) members of this type are thread safe. Any instance members are not guaranteed to be thread safe.

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0