This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

MachineKeyValidation Enumeration

Specifies the type of encryption process that is used for validation and encryption of data.

Namespace:  System.Web.Configuration
Assembly:  System.Web (in System.Web.dll)

public enum MachineKeyValidation

Member nameDescription
MD5Specifies that ASP.NET uses the Message Digest 5 (MD5) hash algorithm. This algorithm performs better than SHA1.
SHA1Specifies that ASP.NET uses the SHA1 hash algorithm.

This is the default value. Use this algorithm for increased security.

TripleDESSpecifies that ASP.NET uses TripleDES (3DES) encryption. TripleDES uses three successive iterations of the DES algorithm.
AESSpecifies that ASP.NET uses AES (Rijndael) encryption.

The MachineKeyValidation class provides four encryption types that ASP.NET uses for encrypting and validating data. The four encryption types are SHA1, MD5, TripleDES, and AES.

The following code example shows how to use the MachineKeyValidation class. This code example is part of a larger example provided for the MachineKeySection class.

// Set Validation property.
configSection.Validation = MachineKeyValidation.SHA1;

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0