This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

FaultCode Class

Represents a SOAP fault code.

Namespace:  System.ServiceModel
Assembly:  System.ServiceModel (in System.ServiceModel.dll)

public ref class FaultCode

Fault code provides a machine-readable identifier that can be used to programmatically identify the error condition and respond as appropriate. The SOAP specifications define the following fault codes specific to SOAP 1.1 and 1.2.

  • SOAP 1.1. VersionMismatch, MustUnderstand, Client, and Server.

  • SOAP 1.2. VersionMismatch, MustUnderstand, DataEncodingUnknown, Sender, and Receiver.

In addition to those fault codes defined by the SOAP specifications, Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) uses fault codes defined by each Web services specification that it implements.


Any public static (Shared in Visual Basic) members of this type are thread safe. Any instance members are not guaranteed to be thread safe.

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows CE, Windows Mobile for Smartphone, Windows Mobile for Pocket PC

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0

.NET Compact Framework

Supported in: 3.5