ServiceHostingEnvironmentSection::MultipleSiteBindingsEnabled Property

.NET Framework (current version)

The .NET API Reference documentation has a new home. Visit the .NET API Browser on to see the new experience.

Gets or sets a value that specifies whether multiple IIS bindings per site are enabled.

Namespace:   System.ServiceModel.Configuration
Assembly:  System.ServiceModel (in System.ServiceModel.dll)

	DefaultValue = false)]
property bool MultipleSiteBindingsEnabled {
	bool get();
	void set(bool value);

Property Value

Type: System::Boolean

true if multiple IIS bindings per site are enabled; otherwise, false.

IIS consists of web sites, which are containers for virtual applications containing virtual directories. The application in a site can be accessed through one or more IIS binding. An IIS binding provides two pieces of information: a binding protocol and binding information. Binding protocol defines the scheme over which communication occurs, and binding information is the information used to access the site. An example of a binding protocol can be HTTP, whereas binding information can contain an IP address, Port, host header, etc.

IIS supports specifying multiple IIS bindings per site, which results in multiple base addresses per scheme. However, a Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) service hosted under a site allows binding to only one baseAddress per scheme.

To enable multiple IIS bindings per site for a Windows Communication Foundation (WCF) service, set this property to true. Notice that multiple site binding is supported only for the HTTP protocol. The address of endpoints in the configuration file needs to be a complete URI.

.NET Framework
Available since 3.0
Return to top