This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

ServiceHostingEnvironmentSection.MultipleSiteBindingsEnabled Property

Gets or sets a value that specifies whether multiple IIS bindings per site is enabled.

Namespace:  System.ServiceModel.Configuration
Assembly:  System.ServiceModel (in System.ServiceModel.dll)

[ConfigurationPropertyAttribute("multipleSiteBindingsEnabled", DefaultValue = false)]
public bool MultipleSiteBindingsEnabled { get; set; }

Property Value

Type: System.Boolean
true if multiple IIS bindings per site is enabled; otherwise, false.

IIS consists of web sites, which are containers for virtual applications containing virtual directories. The application in a site can be accessed through one or more IIS binding. An IIS binding provides two pieces of information: a binding protocol and binding information. Binding protocol defines the scheme over which communication occurs, and binding information is the information used to access the site. An example of a binding protocol can be HTTP, whereas binding information can contain an IP address, Port, host header, etc.

IIS supports specifying multiple IIS bindings per site, which results in multiple base addresses per scheme. However, a service hosted under a site allows binding to only one baseAddress per scheme.

To enable multiple IIS bindings per site for a service, set this property to true. Notice that multiple site binding is supported only for the HTTP protocol. The address of endpoints in the configuration file needs to be a complete URI.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.