This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

PolicyLevelType Enumeration

Specifies the type of a managed code policy level.

Namespace:  System.Security
Assembly:  mscorlib (in mscorlib.dll)

public enum PolicyLevelType

Member nameDescription
UserSecurity policy for all managed code that is run by the user.
MachineSecurity policy for all managed code that is run on the computer.
EnterpriseSecurity policy for all managed code in an enterprise.
AppDomainSecurity policy for all managed code in an application.

The highest level of security policy is enterprise-wide. Successive lower levels of hierarchy represent further policy restrictions, but can never grant more permissions than allowed by higher levels. The policy levels in order are the following.

1. Enterprise

2. Machine

3. User

4. Application domain

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.