This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

X509ContentType Enumeration

Updated: February 2010

Specifies the format of an X.509 certificate.

Namespace:  System.Security.Cryptography.X509Certificates
Assembly:  mscorlib (in mscorlib.dll)

<ComVisibleAttribute(True)> _
Public Enumeration X509ContentType
Dim instance As X509ContentType

Member nameDescription
UnknownAn unknown X.509 certificate.
CertA single X.509 certificate.
SerializedCertA single serialized X.509 certificate.
PfxA PFX-formatted certificate. The Pfx value is identical to the Pkcs12 value.
Pkcs12A PKCS #12–formatted certificate. The Pkcs12 value is identical to the Pfx value.
SerializedStoreA serialized store.
Pkcs7A PKCS #7–formatted certificate.
AuthenticodeAn Authenticode X.509 certificate.

Content types Cert, Pkcs12, and SerializedCert can be exported as byte arrays. Therefore, all three formats are serialized certificates. SerializedCert differs from an exported Cert file in that it is created by using the CertSerializeCertificateStoreElement function, which serializes both the encoded certificate and its encoded properties. If you export the same X509Certificate object in both formats and view the resulting byte arrays, you will see that the two are different.

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0




February 2010

Added information about serialized certificates.

Customer feedback.