This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

X509ContentType Enumeration

Specifies the format of an X.509 certificate.

Namespace:  System.Security.Cryptography.X509Certificates
Assembly:  mscorlib (in mscorlib.dll)

public enum X509ContentType

Member nameDescription
UnknownAn unknown X.509 certificate.
CertA single X.509 certificate.
SerializedCertA single serialized X.509 certificate.
PfxA PFX-formatted certificate. The Pfx value is identical to the Pkcs12 value.
Pkcs12A PKCS #12–formatted certificate. The Pkcs12 value is identical to the Pfx value.
SerializedStoreA serialized store.
Pkcs7A PKCS #7–formatted certificate.
AuthenticodeAn Authenticode X.509 certificate.

Content types Cert, Pkcs12, and SerializedCert can be exported as byte arrays. Therefore, all three formats are serialized certificates. SerializedCert differs from an exported Cert file in that it is created by using the CertSerializeCertificateStoreElement function, which serializes both the encoded certificate and its encoded properties. If you export the same X509Certificate object in both formats and view the resulting byte arrays, you will see that the two are different.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.