This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

StoreName Enumeration

Specifies the name of the X.509 certificate store to open.

Namespace:  System.Security.Cryptography.X509Certificates
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public enum StoreName

Member nameDescription
AddressBookThe X.509 certificate store for other users.
AuthRootThe X.509 certificate store for third-party certificate authorities (CAs).
CertificateAuthorityThe X.509 certificate store for intermediate certificate authorities (CAs).
DisallowedThe X.509 certificate store for revoked certificates.
MyThe X.509 certificate store for personal certificates.
RootThe X.509 certificate store for trusted root certificate authorities (CAs).
TrustedPeopleThe X.509 certificate store for directly trusted people and resources.
TrustedPublisherThe X.509 certificate store for directly trusted publishers.

This enumeration specifies the X.509 store name, which also includes the type of certificates included. For example, My includes personal certificates, whereas Disallowed includes only revoked certificates.

The following code example opens an X.509 certificate store, adds and deletes certificates, and then closes the store. It assumes you have three certificates to add to and remove from a local store.

using System;
using System.Security.Cryptography;
using System.Security.Cryptography.X509Certificates;
using System.IO;

public class X509store2
    public static void Main(string[] args)
        //Create new X509 store called teststore from the local certificate store.
        X509Store store = new X509Store(StoreName.My);
        X509Certificate2 certificate = new X509Certificate2();

        //Create certificates from certificate files.
        //You must put in a valid path to three certificates in the following constructors.
        X509Certificate2 certificate1 = new X509Certificate2("c:\\mycerts\\*****.cer");
        X509Certificate2 certificate2 = new X509Certificate2("c:\\mycerts\\*****.cer");
        X509Certificate2 certificate5 = new X509Certificate2("c:\\mycerts\\*****.cer");

        //Create a collection and add two of the certificates.
        X509Certificate2Collection collection = new X509Certificate2Collection();

        //Add certificates to the store.

        X509Certificate2Collection storecollection = (X509Certificate2Collection)store.Certificates;
        Console.WriteLine("Store name: {0}", store.Name);
        Console.WriteLine("Store location: {0}", store.Location);
        foreach (X509Certificate2 x509 in storecollection)
            Console.WriteLine("certificate name: {0}", x509.Subject);

        //Remove a certificate.
        X509Certificate2Collection storecollection2 = (X509Certificate2Collection)store.Certificates;
        Console.WriteLine("{1}Store name: {0}", store.Name, Environment.NewLine);
        foreach (X509Certificate2 x509 in storecollection2)
            Console.WriteLine("certificate name: {0}", x509.Subject);

        //Remove a range of certificates.
        X509Certificate2Collection storecollection3 = (X509Certificate2Collection)store.Certificates;
        Console.WriteLine("{1}Store name: {0}", store.Name, Environment.NewLine);
        if (storecollection3.Count == 0)
            Console.WriteLine("Store contains no certificates.");
            foreach (X509Certificate2 x509 in storecollection3)
                Console.WriteLine("certificate name: {0}", x509.Subject);

        //Close the store.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.