CipherAlgorithmType Enumeration

Defines the possible cipher algorithms for the SslStream class.

Namespace: System.Security.Authentication
Assembly: System (in system.dll)

public enum CipherAlgorithmType
public enum CipherAlgorithmType
public enum CipherAlgorithmType

 Member nameDescription
AesThe Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) algorithm. 
Aes128The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) algorithm with a 128 bit key. 
Aes192The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) algorithm with a 192 bit key. 
Aes256The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) algorithm with a 256 bit key. 
DesThe Data Encryption Standard (DES) algorithm. 
NoneNo encryption algorithm is used. 
Rc2Rivest's Code 2 (RC2) algorithm. 
Rc4Rivest's Code 4 (RC4) algorithm. 
TripleDesThe Triple Data Encryption Standard (3DES) algorithm. 

This enumeration specifies valid values for the System.Net.Security.SslStream.CipherAlgorithm property.

The following example displays the properties of an SslStream.

static void AuthenticateCallback(IAsyncResult ar)
    SslStream stream = (SslStream) ar.AsyncState;
        Console.WriteLine("Authentication succeeded.");
        Console.WriteLine("Cipher: {0} strength {1}", stream.CipherAlgorithm, 
        Console.WriteLine("Hash: {0} strength {1}", 
            stream.HashAlgorithm, stream.HashStrength);
        Console.WriteLine("Key exchange: {0} strength {1}", 
            stream.KeyExchangeAlgorithm, stream.KeyExchangeStrength);
        Console.WriteLine("Protocol: {0}", stream.SslProtocol);
        // Encode a test message into a byte array.
        // Signal the end of the message using the "<EOF>".
        byte[] message = Encoding.UTF8.GetBytes("Hello from the client.<EOF>");
        // Asynchronously send a message to the server.
        stream.BeginWrite(message, 0, message.Length, 
            new AsyncCallback(WriteCallback),
    catch (Exception authenticationException)
        e = authenticationException;
        complete = true;

Windows 98, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows Server 2003, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Starter Edition

The Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 is supported on Windows Vista, Microsoft Windows XP SP2, and Windows Server 2003 SP1.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.0, 2.0

Community Additions