This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

SocketOptionLevel Enumeration

Defines socket option levels for the Socket.SetSocketOption and Socket.GetSocketOption methods.

Namespace:  System.Net.Sockets
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public enum SocketOptionLevel

Member nameDescription
Supported by the .NET Compact FrameworkSocketSocket options apply to all sockets.
Supported by the .NET Compact FrameworkIPSocket options apply only to IP sockets.
Supported by the .NET Compact FrameworkIPv6Socket options apply only to IPv6 sockets.
Supported by the .NET Compact FrameworkTcpSocket options apply only to TCP sockets.
Supported by the .NET Compact FrameworkUdpSocket options apply only to UDP sockets.

The SocketOptionLevel enumeration defines the socket option levels that can be passed to the Socket.SetSocketOption and Socket.GetSocketOption methods. SocketOptionName enumerated values are grouped by SocketOptionLevel.

Note   To use IPv6 on Windows XP, install Advance Networking Pack for Windows XP.

The following example uses this enumeration to set socket options.

No code example is currently available or this language may not be supported.
		// Specifies that send operations will time-out 
		// if confirmation is not received within 1000 milliseconds.
		s->SetSocketOption(SocketOptionLevel::Socket, SocketOptionName::SendTimeout, 1000);

		// Specifies that the Socket will linger for 10 seconds after Close is called.
		LingerOption *lingerOption = new LingerOption(true, 10);
		s->SetSocketOption(SocketOptionLevel::Socket, SocketOptionName::Linger, lingerOption);

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98, Windows CE, Windows Mobile for Smartphone, Windows Mobile for Pocket PC

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Compact Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 2.0, 1.0