Was this page helpful?
Your feedback about this content is important. Let us know what you think.
Additional feedback?
1500 characters remaining
SocketOptionLevel Enumeration

SocketOptionLevel Enumeration

Defines socket option levels for the Socket.SetSocketOption and Socket.GetSocketOption methods.

Namespace:  System.Net.Sockets
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public enum SocketOptionLevel

Member nameDescription
IPSocket options apply only to IP sockets.
IPv6Socket options apply only to IPv6 sockets.
SocketSocket options apply to all sockets.
TcpSocket options apply only to TCP sockets.
UdpSocket options apply only to UDP sockets.

The SocketOptionLevel enumeration defines the socket option levels that can be passed to the Socket.SetSocketOption and Socket.GetSocketOption methods. SocketOptionName enumerated values are grouped by SocketOptionLevel.

Note   To use IPv6 on Windows XP, install Advance Networking Pack for Windows XP.

The following example uses this enumeration to set socket options.

        // Send operations will time-out if confirmation  
        // is not received within 1000 milliseconds.
        s.SetSocketOption (SocketOptionLevel.Socket, SocketOptionName.SendTimeout, 1000);

        // The socket will linger for 10 seconds after Socket.Close is called.
        LingerOption lingerOption = new LingerOption (true, 10);

        s.SetSocketOption (SocketOptionLevel.Socket, SocketOptionName.Linger, lingerOption);

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4.6, 4.5, 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1
© 2015 Microsoft