This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

SocketOptionLevel Enumeration

Defines socket option levels for the Socket.SetSocketOption and Socket.GetSocketOption methods.

Namespace:  System.Net.Sockets
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public enum SocketOptionLevel

Member nameDescription
SocketSocket options apply to all sockets.
IPSocket options apply only to IP sockets.
IPv6Socket options apply only to IPv6 sockets.
TcpSocket options apply only to TCP sockets.
UdpSocket options apply only to UDP sockets.

The SocketOptionLevel enumeration defines the socket option levels that can be passed to the Socket.SetSocketOption and Socket.GetSocketOption methods. SocketOptionName enumerated values are grouped by SocketOptionLevel.

Note   To use IPv6 on Windows XP, install Advance Networking Pack for Windows XP.

The following example uses this enumeration to set socket options.

        // Send operations will time-out if confirmation 
        // is not received within 1000 milliseconds.
        s.SetSocketOption (SocketOptionLevel.Socket, SocketOptionName.SendTimeout, 1000);

        // The socket will linger for 10 seconds after Socket.Close is called.
        LingerOption lingerOption = new LingerOption (true, 10);

        s.SetSocketOption (SocketOptionLevel.Socket, SocketOptionName.Linger, lingerOption);

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.