This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

CryptographicProviderType Enumeration

Specifies the cryptographic service providers available for validating digital signatures.

Namespace:  System.Messaging
Assembly:  System.Messaging (in System.Messaging.dll)

public enum class CryptographicProviderType

Member nameDescription
NoneNo cryptographic provider type specified.
RsaFullThe full RSA provider type, which supports both digital signatures and data encryption. Considered a general purpose cryptographic services provider. The RSA public-key algorithm is used for all public-key operations.

RSA Data Security, Inc., is a major developer and publisher of public-key cryptography standards. The "RSA" in the name stands for the names of the company's three developers and the owners: Rivest, Shamir, and Adelman.

RsqSigA subset of the RsaFull provider type, which supports only those functions and algorithms required for hashes and digital signatures.
DssA provider type that, like RsqSig, only supports hashes and digital signatures. Dss specifies the Digital Signature Algorithm (DSA) signature algorithm.
FortezzaA provider type that contains a set of cryptographic protocols and algorithms owned by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
MicrosoftExchangeA provider type designed for the cryptographic needs of the Microsoft Exchange mail application and other applications compatible with Microsoft Mail.

This provider type is preliminary.

SslA provider type that supports the Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol.
SttMerSecure transaction technology provider enterprise.
SttAcqSecure transaction technology provider acquirer.
SttBrndSecure transaction technology provider brand.
SttRootSecure transaction technology provider root.
SttIssSecure transaction technology provider issuer.

A cryptographic service provider contains implementations of cryptographic standards and algorithms. Applications can require the authentication provider name or authentication provider type of a cryptographic service provider to validate the digital signatures.

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0