This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

ProcessThread.BasePriority Property

Gets the base priority of the thread.

Namespace:  System.Diagnostics
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public int BasePriority { get; }

Property Value

Type: System.Int32
The base priority of the thread, which the operating system computes by combining the process priority class with the priority level of the associated thread.

The BasePriority is the starting priority for the process thread. You can view information about the base priority through the System Monitor's Priority Base counter.

The operating system computes a thread's base priority by combining the thread's priority level range with the process's priority class. You can set the process's Process.PriorityClass property to one of the values in the ProcessPriorityClass enumeration, which are Idle, Normal, High, AboveNormal, BelowNormal, or RealTime. You can set the thread's PriorityLevel property to a range of values that bounds the thread's base priority. Win32 uses four priority classes with seven base priority levels per class.

The thread's current priority might deviate from the base priority. For example, the operating system can change the CurrentPriority property based on the time elapsed or other boosts when a process must be put ahead of others for access to the processor. In addition, you can set the PriorityBoostEnabled property to cause the system to temporarily boost the priority of a thread whenever the process is taken out of the wait state. The priority is reset when the process returns to the wait state.

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP Starter Edition, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98

The .NET Framework and .NET Compact Framework do not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0