This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

ProcessPriorityClass Enumeration

Indicates the priority that the system associates with a process. This value, together with the priority value of each thread of the process, determines each thread's base priority level.

Namespace:  System.Diagnostics
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public enum class ProcessPriorityClass

Member nameDescription
NormalSpecifies that the process has no special scheduling needs.
IdleSpecifies that the threads of this process run only when the system is idle, such as a screen saver. The threads of the process are preempted by the threads of any process running in a higher priority class.
The idle priority class is inherited by child processes.
HighSpecifies that the process performs time-critical tasks that must be executed immediately, such as the Task List dialog, which must respond quickly when called by the user, regardless of the load on the operating system. The threads of the process preempt the threads of normal or idle priority class processes.
Caution noteCaution
Use extreme care when specifying High for the process's priority class, because a high priority class application can use nearly all available processor time.
RealTimeSpecifies that the process has the highest possible priority.
Caution noteCaution
The threads of a process with RealTime priority preempt the threads of all other processes, including operating system processes performing important tasks. Thus, a RealTime priority process that executes for more than a very brief interval can cause disk caches not to flush or cause the mouse to be unresponsive.
BelowNormalSpecifies that the process has priority above Idle but below Normal.
AboveNormalSpecifies that the process has priority above Normal but below High.

A process priority class encompasses a range of thread priority levels. Threads with different priorities running in the process run relative to the process's priority class. The operating system uses the base-priority level of all executable threads to determine which thread gets the next slice of processor time.

Win32 uses four priority classes with seven base priority levels per class. Based on time elapsed or other boosts, the operating system can change the base priority level when a process needs to be put ahead of others for access to the processor. In addition, you can set PriorityBoostEnabled to temporarily boost the priority level of threads that have been taken out of the wait state. The priority is reset when the process returns to the wait state.

Windows 98 Platform Note: Setting the priority class to AboveNormal or BelowNormal causes an exception to be thrown.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.