PerformanceCounterCategory.CategoryType Property


The .NET API Reference documentation has a new home. Visit the .NET API Browser on to see the new experience.

Gets the performance counter category type.

Namespace:   System.Diagnostics
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public PerformanceCounterCategoryType CategoryType { get; }

The CategoryType property indicates whether the PerformanceCounterCategory object can have multiple instances. The possible values are MultiInstance, SingleInstance, or Unknown.

There are two types of performance counter categories: single-instance and multi-instance. By default, a category is single-instance when it is created and becomes multi-instance when another instance is added. Categories are created when an application is set up, and instances are added at run time. In the .NET Framework versions 1.0 and 1.1, it is not necessary to know if a performance counter category is multi-instance or single-instance. In the .NET Framework 2.0, the PerformanceCounterCategoryType enumeration is used to indicate whether a performance counter can have multiple instances.

.NET Framework
Available since 2.0
Return to top