This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

EventLogEntryCollection.CopyTo Method

Copies the elements of the EventLogEntryCollection to an array of EventLogEntry instances, starting at a particular array index.

Namespace:  System.Diagnostics
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public void CopyTo(
	EventLogEntry[] entries,
	int index


Type: System.Diagnostics.EventLogEntry[]
The one-dimensional array of EventLogEntry instances that is the destination of the elements copied from the collection. The array must have zero-based indexing.
Type: System.Int32
The zero-based index in the array at which copying begins.

Because new entries are appended to the existing list, stepping through the collection enables you to access the entries that were created after you originally created the EventLogEntryCollection. An array of EventLogEntry instances is fixed at the time it is instantiated. Therefore, you cannot read new entries by using the array that is returned by the CopyTo method.

The following example creates an EventLogEntry array and uses the CopyTo method to copy the contents of an EventLogEntryCollection into it.

// Copy the EventLog entries to Array of type EventLogEntry.
EventLogEntry[] myEventLogEntryArray =
   new EventLogEntry[myEventLogEntryCollection.Count];
myEventLogEntryCollection.CopyTo(myEventLogEntryArray, 0);
IEnumerator myEnumerator = myEventLogEntryArray.GetEnumerator();
while (myEnumerator.MoveNext())
    EventLogEntry myEventLogEntry = (EventLogEntry)myEnumerator.Current;
    Console.WriteLine("The LocalTime the Event is generated is "
       + myEventLogEntry.TimeGenerated);

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.