Class Property
Collapse the table of content
Expand the table of content

SqlError.Class Property


Gets the severity level of the error returned from SQL Server.

Namespace:   System.Data.SqlClient
Assembly:  System.Data (in System.Data.dll)

public byte Class { get; }

Property Value

Type: System.Byte

A value from 1 to 25 that indicates the severity level of the error. The default is 0.

Messages with a severity level of 10 or less are informational and indicate problems caused by mistakes in information that a user has entered. Severity levels from 11 through 16 are generated by the user, and can be corrected by the user. Severity levels from 17 through 25 indicate software or hardware errors. When a level 17, 18, or 19 error occurs, you can continue working, although you might not be able to execute a particular statement.

The SqlConnection remains open when the severity level is 19 or less. When the severity level is 20 or greater, the server usually closes the SqlConnection. However, the user can reopen the connection and continue. In both cases, a SqlException is generated by the method executing the command.

For more information on errors generated by SQL Server, see SQL Server Books Online.

The following example displays each SqlError within the SqlErrorCollection collection.

public void DisplaySqlErrors(SqlException exception)
	for (int i = 0; i < exception.Errors.Count; i++)
		Console.WriteLine("Index #" + i + "\n" +
			"Source: " + exception.Errors[i].Source + "\n" +
			"Number: " + exception.Errors[i].Number.ToString() + "\n" +
			"State: " + exception.Errors[i].State.ToString() + "\n" +
			"Class: " + exception.Errors[i].Class.ToString() + "\n" +
			"Server: " + exception.Errors[i].Server + "\n" +
			"Message: " + exception.Errors[i].Message + "\n" +
			"Procedure: " + exception.Errors[i].Procedure + "\n" +
			"LineNumber: " + exception.Errors[i].LineNumber.ToString());

Universal Windows Platform
Available since 10
.NET Framework
Available since 1.1
Return to top
© 2016 Microsoft