This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

How to: Delete a Build Definition

Team Foundation Build uses build definitions to manage the conditions under which a single solution or a set of solutions are built within a team project workspace. You can delete build definitions using Team Explorer.

Required Permissions

To perform this procedure, you must either belong to the Team Project Contributors security group, or you must have the Check Out permission set to Allow. To check in the deletion, you must have the Check In permission set to Allow. For more information, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

To delete a build definition

  1. In Team Explorer, expand the Builds folder, and then locate the build definition you want to delete.

    If the build definition has associated completed builds, you must delete all the completed builds before you can delete the build definition itself. For more information, see How to: Delete a Completed Build and How to: Delete a Completed Build (Command-Line).

  2. After you have deleted all of the associated completed builds, select the build definition, and then click Delete on the Edit menu.

    Alternately, you can right-click the build definition in Team Explorer, and then click Delete on the drop-down menu.

  3. Click OK on the <'build definition name'> will be deleted permanently message.

Show: