Was this page helpful?
Your feedback about this content is important. Let us know what you think.
Additional feedback?
1500 characters remaining
Wi-Fi Standards

Wi-Fi Standards (Windows Embedded CE 6.0)


The following are some of the product compatibility standards for wireless local area networks (WLAN) based on the IEEE 802.11 specifications.

WMM (Wi-Fi Multimedia)

Wi-Fi Multimedia (formerly known as Wireless Multimedia Extensions) refers to QoS (Quality of Service) over Wi-Fi.

WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy)

WEP provides data confidentiality services by encrypting the data sent between wireless nodes.


Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) is an implementation that provides enhanced security for wireless networks and is based on a subset of the IEEE 802.11i standard


WPA2 provides a stronger encryption mechanism through Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)..

Community Additions

© 2015 Microsoft