Standard C++ Library Overview
Important This document may not represent best practices for current development, links to downloads and other resources may no longer be valid. Current recommended version can be found here. ArchiveDisclaimer

Standard C++ Library Overview 

All C++ library entities are declared or defined in one or more standard headers. To make use of a library entity in a program, write an include directive that names the relevant standard header. The Standard C++ Library consists of 50 required headers. This implementation also includes two additional headers, <hash_map> and <hash_set>, that are not required by the C++ Standard, for a total of 52 headers. These 52 C++ library headers (with the additional 18 Standard C headers) constitute a hosted implementation of the C++ library.

A freestanding implementation of the C++ library provides only a subset of these headers:


<cstdlib> (declaring at least the functions abort, atexit, and exit)





The C++ library headers have two broader subdivisions:

This section contains the following sections:

For more information about Visual C++ run-time libraries, see C Run-Time Libraries.

© 2016 Microsoft