This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

float Data Type

The float type is stored as a four-byte, single-precision, floating-point number. It represents a single-precision 32-bit IEEE 754 value.

The float type can represent numbers as large as 1038 (positive or negative) with an accuracy of about seven digits, and as small as 10-44. The float type can also represent NaN (Not a Number), positive and negative infinity, and positive and negative zero.

This type is useful for applications that need large numbers but do not need precise accuracy. If you require very accurate numbers, consider using the Decimal data type.

The corresponding .NET Framework data type is System.Single. The properties and methods of the float data type are the same as the System.Single properties and methods.

Properties and Methods

Single Members


Version .NET

See Also

Data Types | Data Type Summary | decimal Data Type | Single Structure