5.1 Variable categories
The document is archived and information here might be outdated

5.1 Variable categories

Visual Studio .NET 2003

C# defines seven categories of variables: static variables, instance variables, array elements, value parameters, reference parameters, output parameters, and local variables. The sections that follow describe each of these categories.

In the example

class A
   public static int x;
   int y;
   void F(int[] v, int a, ref int b, out int c) {
      int i = 1;
      c = a + b++;

x is a static variable, y is an instance variable, v[0] is an array element, a is a value parameter, b is a reference parameter, c is an output parameter, and i is a local variable.

© 2016 Microsoft