Upgrading from Workflow Designer for Exchange 2000This content is no longer actively maintained. It is provided as is, for anyone who may still be using these technologies, with no warranties or claims of accuracy with regard to the most recent product version or service release.
When you open a project and it contains a previous version of Workflow for Exchange process definitions, those process definitions will not be upgraded automatically. They will appear in the Solution Explorer, but the Workflow Designer does not require you to upgrade them.
When you open the process definition for the first time, a dialog box is displayed indicating that your workflow process will be upgraded and confirming that you wish to continue. Choosing Yes will upgrade the process definition to Microsoft® Office XP Developer format, including modifying any script. When the upgrade is complete, the workflow process is displayed on the design surface. The changes are not saved until you manually save the WFD file. To roll back the conversion, simply close the workflow process without saving.
If you choose No, then the upgrade will be canceled, and you will not be able to open the process definition. It will appear in the Solution Explorer, just as it did before you tried to open it. If you try to open it again, you will be prompted again with the previous message.
Script in the Code Editor
When you upgrade a workflow process definition that was created in Exchange Workflow Designer, you will notice that the script blocks for events are wrapped with procedure (Sub) names. For conditions, the expressions are wrapped in function names, and a function return is added as follows:
Function State1_OnChangeValidate() as Boolean State1_OnChangeValidate = (<existing expression>) End Function
Note The existing expression is wrapped in parentheses.
If the script is in an external script file, you will see a dialog box that asks if you want to copy all the common script from the external file into the internal common script block. If you select No, then the upgrade is canceled, and process definition is not opened. If you select Yes, the designer will try to open the external script file, copy all the existing code from it to the internal common script block, and then proceed to do the wrapping as described earlier.
Note External shared script is imported into the new script editor.