ImageAttributes.SetGamma Method (Single, ColorAdjustType)

Sets the gamma value for a specified category.

Namespace: System.Drawing.Imaging
Assembly: System.Drawing (in system.drawing.dll)

public void SetGamma (
	float gamma,
	ColorAdjustType type
public void SetGamma (
	float gamma, 
	ColorAdjustType type
public function SetGamma (
	gamma : float, 
	type : ColorAdjustType
Not applicable.



The gamma correction value.


An element of the ColorAdjustType enumeration that specifies the category for which the gamma value is set.

Return Value

This method does not return a value.

Typical values for the gamma parameter are from 1.0 to 2.2; however, values from 0.1 to 5.0 could prove useful in some circumstances.

An ImageAttributes object maintains color and grayscale settings for five adjustment categories: default, bitmap, brush, pen, and text. For example, you can specify a gamma value for the default category, a different gamma value for the bitmap category, and still a different gamma value for the pen category.

The default color-adjustment and grayscale-adjustment settings apply to all categories that do not have adjustment settings of their own. For example, if you never specify any adjustment settings for the pen category, the default settings apply to the pen category.

As soon as you specify a color-adjustment or grayscale-adjustment setting for a certain category, the default adjustment settings no longer apply to that category. For example, suppose you specify a collection of adjustment settings for the default category. If you set the gamma value for the pen category by passing Pen to the SetGamma method, none of the default adjustment settings will apply to pens.

Gamma values outside the usual range may be useful for old CRT monitors or for monitors that are in unusual lighting conditions, such as industrial environments or window displays.

For a code example, see the SetGamma(Single) method.

Windows 98, Windows Server 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows Server 2003, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Starter Edition

The Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 is supported on Windows Vista, Microsoft Windows XP SP2, and Windows Server 2003 SP1.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0