This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

WindowsIdentity.GetCurrent Method (TokenAccessLevels)

Returns a WindowsIdentity object that represents the current Windows user, using the specified desired token access level.

Namespace:  System.Security.Principal
Assembly:  mscorlib (in mscorlib.dll)

[SecurityPermissionAttribute(SecurityAction.Demand, Flags = SecurityPermissionFlag.ControlPrincipal)]
public static WindowsIdentity GetCurrent(
	TokenAccessLevels desiredAccess


Type: System.Security.Principal.TokenAccessLevels
A bitwise combination of the enumeration values.

Return Value

Type: System.Security.Principal.WindowsIdentity
An object that represents the current user.

The desiredAccess parameter specifies an access mask that identifies the requested types of access to the access token. These requested access types are compared with the token's discretionary access control list (DACL) to determine which types of access are granted or denied.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 7, Windows Vista SP1 or later, Windows XP SP3, Windows XP SP2 x64 Edition, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core supported with SP1 or later), Windows Server 2003 SP2

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.