Was this page helpful?
Your feedback about this content is important. Let us know what you think.
Additional feedback?
1500 characters remaining
Collapse the table of content
Expand the table of content

<switches> Element

Contains trace switches and the level where the trace switches are set.

<configuration> Element
  <system.diagnostics> Element
    <switches> Element

The following sections describe attributes, child elements, and parent elements.



Child Elements




Specifies the level where a trace switch is set.

Parent Elements




The root element in every configuration file used by the common language runtime and .NET Framework applications.


Specifies trace listeners that collect, store, and route messages and the level where a trace switch is set.

You can change the level of a trace switch by putting it in a configuration file. If the switch is a BooleanSwitch, you can turn it on and off. If the switch is a TraceSwitch, you can assign different levels to it to specify the types of trace or debug messages the application outputs.

The following example shows how to use the <switch> element to set the General trace switch to the TraceLevel.Error level, and enable the Data Boolean trace switch.

         <add name="General" value="4" />
         <add name="Data" value="1" />
© 2015 Microsoft