Was this page helpful?
Your feedback about this content is important. Let us know what you think.
Additional feedback?
1500 characters remaining
PerformanceCounterCategoryType Enumeration
Collapse the table of content
Expand the table of content

PerformanceCounterCategoryType Enumeration

Note: This enumeration is new in the .NET Framework version 2.0.

Indicates whether the performance counter category can have multiple instances.

Namespace: System.Diagnostics
Assembly: System (in system.dll)

public enum PerformanceCounterCategoryType
public enum PerformanceCounterCategoryType
public enum PerformanceCounterCategoryType

 Member nameDescription
MultiInstanceThe performance counter category can have multiple instances. 
SingleInstanceThe performance counter category can have only a single instance. 
UnknownThe instance functionality for the performance counter category is unknown.  

There are two types of performance counter categories: single-instance and multi-instance. By default, a category is single-instance when it is created and becomes multi-instance when another instance is added. Categories are created when an application is set up, and instances are added at run time. In the .NET Framework version 1.0 and version 1.1, it is not necessary to know whether a performance counter category is multi-instance or single-instance. In the .NET Framework version 2.0, the PerformanceCounterCategoryType enumeration is used to indicate whether a performance counter can have multiple instances.

Windows 98, Windows 2000 SP4, Windows Millennium Edition, Windows Server 2003, Windows XP Media Center Edition, Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Windows XP SP2, Windows XP Starter Edition

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see System Requirements.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 2.0

Community Additions

© 2015 Microsoft