How to: Clean Up Files When Users Leave
Important This document may not represent best practices for current development, links to downloads and other resources may no longer be valid. Current recommended version can be found here. ArchiveDisclaimer

How to: Clean Up Files When Users Leave

When a member leaves a team, source control administrators must correctly dispose of that member's files.

Required Permissions

To perform these procedures, you must be a member of the Team Foundation Administrators security group. For more information, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

To clean up source-controlled files after a team member leaves

  1. Check in any files that are checked out to the team member who has left.


    If the member's checked-out files do not need to be saved, omit this step.

  2. Delete the workspaces of the member who has left.

    This operation can be performed only from the command line. For more information, see Workspace Command.

See Also

© 2015 Microsoft