This documentation is archived and is not being maintained.

How to: Delete a Completed Build

The ability to delete an already completed Team Foundation Build is not included in the Team Foundation user interface in Team Foundation Server; however, you can delete a completed build and all the files and directories associated with it, by using the command TFSBuild delete.

Before you run the TFSBuild delete command, you must have the following information:

  • The name of the team project that contains the solution that was built.

  • The build number of the completed Team Foundation Build type you want to delete.

  • The URL of the Team Foundation server.

For more information, see Delete Command (Team Foundation Build).

Required Permissions

To complete this task, you must have Administer a build permission set to Allow. If the build that is deleted has test results associated with it, you must have Publish test results permission set to Allow. Additionally, the application-tier service account and the Team Foundation Build service account must have read/write permissions to the build drop location. For more information, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

Deleting a Completed Build

The following procedure describes how to delete a specific completed build.

To delete a completed build

  1. Click Start, click All Programs, point to Microsoft Visual Studio 2005, point to Visual Studio Tools, and then click Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt.

  2. At the command prompt type:

    c:\>TFSBuild delete http://servername:8080 TeamProjectName BuildNumber
    

    Where the BuildNumber must be enclosed in quotation marks if it contains spaces. The typical format for the BuildNumber is BuildType_yyyymmdd.x, where the yyyy specifies the year, for example 2010. The mm specifies month, for example 05, and dd specifies the day, for example 21. The x specifies the build increment on that day, for example for the first build of a given date x would be 1. You can also customize the build numbering format. For more information, see How to: Customize Build Numbers

  3. When you are prompted, type "y" at the command prompt to start the deletion process. You can optionally enter the /noprompt option to run the command without prompts.

  4. All the files and folders created as a part of the build are deleted from the Team Foundation Build server.

See Also

Show: