Merge to <name> Dialog Box (Explorer)
Merges the selected file version with another version of the file. After the merge operation, you still have two independent file paths, but the changes contained in the selected file show up in both file copies. If the merge operation creates conflicts, the file copy to which the changes are being merged is checked out to your working folder, where you can modify it and resolve the conflicts.
Visual SourceSafe does not support merging for binary files. In addition, you cannot merge one entire project with another.
Dialog Box Access
In Visual SourceSafe Explorer, select the file version to which to merge changes. On the Versions menu, click Merge Branches.
Displays an optional comment about the merge operation. The comment can contain up to 64 characters.
Displays all the projects with which the file has share links.
Runs the Merge Branches command to merge the file versions.
Displays the projects that share the file.