Information
The topic you requested is included in another documentation set. For convenience, it's displayed below. Choose Switch to see the topic in its original location.

Remove Users from a Team Project Group

You can help improve the security of your team projects by removing users from team project groups when they no longer require access to the team project, or no longer need the level of permissions granted by membership in that group. For example, if a user's responsibilities in a team project change so that he or she no longer contributes to work being done on a project but only needs to view information about a project, you can remove that user from the Contributors group and add them to the Readers group.

NoteNote

If you remove a user from a group in Visual Studio Team Foundation Server, you do not automatically remove them from any group to which that user belongs in SQL Server Reporting Services or SharePoint Products. You must manually remove users from any groups to which they belong in those products.

Required Permissions

To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Project Administrators group or your Edit Project-Level Information permission must be set to Allow. For more information about permissions, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

To remove users or groups from a team project group

  1. In Team Explorer, select the team project that the group is in.

  2. On the Team menu, point to Team Project Settings, and then click Group Membership.

  3. In the Project Groups dialog box, select the group from which you want to remove users, and then click Properties.

  4. In the Team Foundation Server Group Properties dialog box, in the Members tab, select the users or groups you want to remove.

  5. Click Remove, and then click OK.

Caution noteCaution

When you completely remove a user or group from Team Foundation Server, any rules specifically and only for that user or group will also be removed. For more information about rules, see Scoping a Field Rule to a Group. Those rules will no longer apply if you re-add that particular user or group. You must re-import the work item type that contains the rule specific to that user or group.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

Show:
© 2014 Microsoft