Export (0) Print
Expand All

Thread.BeginCriticalRegion Method

Notifies a host that execution is about to enter a region of code in which the effects of a thread abort or unhandled exception might jeopardize other tasks in the application domain.

Namespace:  System.Threading
Assembly:  mscorlib (in mscorlib.dll)

[<HostProtectionAttribute(SecurityAction.LinkDemand, Synchronization = true, 
    ExternalThreading = true)>]
static member BeginCriticalRegion : unit -> unit

Hosts of the common language runtime (CLR), such as Microsoft SQL Server 2005, can establish different policies for failures in critical and non-critical regions of code. A critical region is one in which the effects of a thread abort or an unhandled exception might not be limited to the current task. By contrast, an abort or failure in a non-critical region of code affects only the task in which the error occurs.

For example, consider a task that attempts to allocate memory while holding a lock. If the memory allocation fails, aborting the current task is not sufficient to ensure stability of the AppDomain, because there can be other tasks in the domain waiting for the same lock. If the current task is terminated, other tasks could be deadlocked.

When a failure occurs in a critical region, the host might decide to unload the entire AppDomain rather than take the risk of continuing execution in a potentially unstable state. To inform the host that your code is entering a critical region, call BeginCriticalRegion. Call EndCriticalRegion when execution returns to a non-critical region of code.

Using this method in code that runs under SQL Server 2005 requires the code to be run at the highest host protection level.


The HostProtectionAttribute attribute applied to this type or member has the following Resources property value: Synchronization | ExternalThreading. The HostProtectionAttribute does not affect desktop applications (which are typically started by double-clicking an icon, typing a command, or entering a URL in a browser). For more information, see the HostProtectionAttribute class or SQL Server Programming and Host Protection Attributes.

The following example demonstrates the use of the BeginCriticalRegion and EndCriticalRegion methods to divide a block of code into critical and non-critical regions.

No code example is currently available or this language may not be supported.

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4.6, 4.5, 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012, Windows 7, Windows Vista SP2, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core Role not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core Role supported with SP1 or later; Itanium not supported)

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

© 2014 Microsoft