Export (0) Print
Expand All

SocketOptionLevel Enumeration

Defines socket option levels for the Socket::SetSocketOption and Socket::GetSocketOption methods.

Namespace:  System.Net.Sockets
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public enum class SocketOptionLevel

Member nameDescription
IPSocket options apply only to IP sockets.
IPv6Socket options apply only to IPv6 sockets.
SocketSocket options apply to all sockets.
TcpSocket options apply only to TCP sockets.
UdpSocket options apply only to UDP sockets.

The SocketOptionLevel enumeration defines the socket option levels that can be passed to the Socket::SetSocketOption and Socket::GetSocketOption methods. SocketOptionName enumerated values are grouped by SocketOptionLevel.

Note   To use IPv6 on Windows XP, install Advance Networking Pack for Windows XP.

The following example uses this enumeration to set socket options.

// Specifies that send operations will time-out  
// if confirmation is not received within 1000 milliseconds.
s->SetSocketOption( SocketOptionLevel::Socket, SocketOptionName::SendTimeout, 1000 );

// Specifies that the Socket will linger for 10 seconds after Close is called.
LingerOption^ lingerOption = gcnew LingerOption( true,10 );

s->SetSocketOption( SocketOptionLevel::Socket, SocketOptionName::Linger, lingerOption );

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4.6, 4.5, 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012, Windows 7, Windows Vista SP2, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core Role not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core Role supported with SP1 or later; Itanium not supported)

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

© 2014 Microsoft