Export (0) Print
Expand All

Deactivate or Reactivate a User

Changing administrative or project needs might require that you deactivate or reactivate a user account in a team project collection. Deactivating and reactivating the account can help preserve the history and continuity of a user's role.

NoteNote

If you deactivate users in Team Foundation Server, you do not automatically remove any permissions or group memberships they might have in SQL Server Reporting Services or SharePoint Products. You must manually deactivate or remove users from any groups to which you might have added them in those products.

Required Permissions

To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Team Project Collection Administrators group or have the View Collection-Level Information and Edit Collection-Level Information permissions set to Allow. For more information about permissions, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

To deactivate a user in a team project collection

  1. In Team Explorer, connect to the team project collection for which you are deactivating a user.

    For more information, see Connect to and Access Team Projects in Team Foundation Server.

  2. Right-click the server that is running Visual Studio Team Foundation Server, point to Team Project Collection Settings, and then click Security.

  3. In Users and Groups, click the user whom you want to deactivate.

  4. In Permissions for, clear all Allow check boxes for the user, and select all Deny check boxes.

  5. Click Close.

NoteNote

Deactivating a user in this manner will not affect a user who is also a member of the Project Administrators, Team Project Collection Administrators, or Team Foundation Administrators groups. Make sure to remove the user from those groups before you deactivate the user account.

To reactivate a user in a team project collection

  1. In Team Explorer, connect to the team project collection for which you are reactivating a user.

  2. Right-click the server that is running Team Foundation Server, point to Team Project Collection Settings, and then click Security.

  3. In Users and Groups, click the user or group that you want to reactivate.

  4. In Permissions for, select the check boxes for all permissions that you want to allow or deny the user.

  5. Click Close.

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft