Export (0) Print
Expand All

How to: Deactivate or Reactivate a User

Changing administrative or project needs might require that you deactivate or reactivate a Team Foundation Server user account. Deactivating and reactivating the account can help preserve the history and continuity of a user's role.

Required Permissions

To perform this procedure, you must be a member of the Team Foundation Administrators group or have Edit Server-Level Information permission set to Allow. When reactivating users or groups, only allow the permissions the user or group must successfully perform their role. For more information about permissions, see Team Foundation Server Permissions.

To deactivate a user on a Team Foundation Server

  1. In Visual Studio, open Team Explorer, and connect to the Team Foundation Server for which you are deactivating a user.

  2. Right-click the Team Foundation Server, point to Team Foundation Server Settings, and then click Security.

  3. In Users and Groups, select the user who you want to deactivate.

  4. In Permissions for, clear all Allow permissions for the user, and set all permissions to Deny.

  5. Click Close.

NoteNote:

Deactivating a user in this manner will not affect a user who is also a member of the Project Administrators or Team Foundation Administrators groups. Make sure to remove the user from those groups before deactivating the user account.

To reactivate a user on a Team Foundation Server

  1. In Visual Studio, open Team Explorer, and connect to the Team Foundation Server for which you are reactivating a user.

  2. Right-click the Team Foundation Server, point to Team Foundation Server Settings, and then click Security.

  3. In Users and Groups, select the user or group that you want to reactivate.

  4. In Permissions for, select all permissions that you want to allow or deny the user.

  5. Click Close.

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft