Export (0) Print
Expand All
0 out of 1 rated this helpful - Rate this topic

Changes made to team projects and default process templates during upgrade of Team Foundation Server

When you upgrade your server to Visual Studio Team Foundation Server (TFS), several changes are made for all team projects defined on the server. A few features have been deprecated.

This topic describes changed and deprecated features. To learn more about new features added since TFS 2012 to support planning and tracking, see What’s New in Planning and Tracking.

  • Access level: The access level feature sets for Standard and Full Access have changed. See Change access levels for details.

  • TWA navigation and links: The navigation within TWA has changed to support the addition of portfolio backlogs and persistent sprint backlogs.

  • Team administrators permissions: Many features that were previously changeable by anyone on the team now require them to have permissions assigned to team administrators. These include adding team members, adding team favorites, customizing the Kanban board, and adding members and events in a team room. To add a team administrator, go here.

  • Process template names: The names of the default TFS process templates have changed. They are now associated with the version of TFS that they are released with. The new names correspond to:

    • Microsoft Visual Studio Scrum 2013

    • MSF for Agile Software Development 2013

    • MSF for CMMI Process Improvement 2013

  • witadmin: Using the witadmin command for process configuration has changed. The following witadmin commands have been deprecated along with their corresponding configuration files (AgileConfiguration and CommonConfiguration):

    • exportagileprocessconfig

    • exportcommonprocessconfig

    • importagileprocessconfig

    • importcommonprocessconfig

    Now, one process configuration file (ProcessConfiguration) is managed with witadmin exportprocessconfig and importprocessconfig commands. See Import and export process configuration

The following summary describes the changes made to the default process templates that are provided with TFS from their previous versions:

The following changes were made to all the default process templates that TFS provides:

To access the new WITs and other new tools, see Configure Features wizard.

Each of the default process templates that TFS provides has been updated to support additional regressive transitions. These transitions, shown in red in the following illustration, support moving items back to the backlog when they were incorrectly set to done or resolved. Now when you inadvertently drag a work item on the Kanban board or the task board to a resolved or closed state, you can drag it back to an earlier workflow state. The following work item types now support any-to-any workflow transitions:

  • Visual Studio Scrum 2.1: Bug, Product Backlog Item, Task

  • MSF Agile 6.1: Bug, Task, User Story

  • MSF Scrum 6.1: Bug, Task, Requirement

State diagram for Product Backlog Item

To apply the changes to your existing team projects, you need to replace the WORKFLOW sections defined for each of the updated work item types with the new definitions. You can do this by modifying the work item type definition. See Upgrade your 2012 team project from RTM to Update 2.

To obtain the latest versions of the default process templates, you must upgrade your application tier server with Quarterly Update 1. You can obtain the upgrade from the Microsoft download site: Quarterly Update for Microsoft Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2012.

To learn more about the update, see the Microsoft blog post: Visual Studio and Team Foundation Server 2012 Update 1 now available.

Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.