Export (0) Print
Expand All

How to: Purge Deleted Files and Projects

Visual Studio 2005

Visual SourceSafe supports a Purge command on the Deleted Items tab, and also supports a command line Purge command. The Purge command permanently removes deleted files and projects from a Visual SourceSafe database. You must have the Destroy project right to use the Purge command.

Caution noteCaution

You will not be able to recover items that you purge from a Visual SourceSafe database.

To purge a deleted file or project using Visual SourceSafe Explorer:

  1. In Visual SourceSafe Explorer, select a project for which to purge deleted items.

  2. On the File menu, click Properties.

  3. Now click the Deleted Items tab.

  4. Select the file(s) or project you want to purge.

  5. Click Purge. Visual SourceSafe displays a warning message, because you cannot undo a Purge command.

  6. Click Yes when Visual SourceSafe asks you if you want to continue.

See Also

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft