Upgrades or downgrades a Visual SourceSafe database to a new format, which is applied upon initialization. A database can be upgraded if it is later than version 3.0.
A new installation of Visual SourceSafe might upgrade your database. Be sure to back up all databases before making any product installations. You will also want to be sure to back up your database before using DDUPD.