Export (0) Print
Expand All
7 out of 10 rated this helpful - Rate this topic

How to: Roll Back to a Previous Version

Visual Studio 2005

The Visual SourceSafe Rollback command returns a file to a previous version, erasing all the versions and changes newer than the chosen version. For example, if you select version 5 for an item and then click Rollback, all changes since version 5 are lost. If a file to which you roll back is being shared by more than one project, the rollback affects only the project you specify. By default, the Rollback command uses the current project. You must have the Destroy project right to use this command.

When the Rollback command is invoked, it implicitly branches the file in the specified project away from the same file in all other projects, and creates a new path. To bring the separate development paths back together if you make changes to the specified project, you have to merge the files.

To roll back to a previous version of a file:

  1. Open Visual SourceSafe Explorer and select a file.

  2. On the Tools menu, click Show History. If a dialog box does not appear, use the SourceSafe Options dialog box, Command Dialogs tab to enable dialog boxes for file commands.

  3. In the History Options dialog box, click OK.

  4. In the History of <name> dialog box, select a version of the file to which you want to roll back, and click Rollback.

  5. A message appears notifying you that all versions subsequent to the one you have selected will be deleted. Click Yes to roll back to the selected version or No to cancel the operation.

See Also

Did you find this helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft. All rights reserved.