Export (0) Print
Expand All
Expand Minimize

How to: Create and Manage Shared Schedules (Reporting Services in SharePoint Integrated Mode)

A shared schedule is a multipurpose schedule that provides ready-to-use schedule information to any number of reports or subscriptions. You create a shared schedule once, and then reference it in a subscription or property page when you need schedule information. Shared schedules can be centrally managed, paused, and resumed. In contrast, you must edit a custom schedule manually to prevent a report or subscription from running.

You must be a site administrator to create, modify, or delete shared schedules on a SharePoint site.

You can identify a specific schedule by its descriptive name. If a name is not specified, a default name is created based on facts about the schedule, such as its recurrence pattern or dates and times when it runs.

To create shared schedules

  1. Click Site Actions.

  2. Click Site Settings.

  3. Click Modify All Site Settings.

  4. In the Reporting Services section, click Manage Shared Schedules.

  5. Click Add Schedule to open the Schedule Properties page.

  6. Enter a descriptive name for the schedule. On the application pages used to work with Reporting Services reports, this name will appear in drop-down lists in schedule definition pages throughout the site. Avoid long names that are hard to read. Do follow a naming convention that puts the most description information at the beginning of the name.

  7. Choose a frequency. Depending on the frequency you choose, the schedule options that appear on the page might change to support that frequency (for example, if you choose Month, the name of each month will appear on the page).

  8. Define the schedule. Not all schedule combinations can be supported in a single schedule.

  9. Set a start and end date.

  10. Click OK.

You can pause and resume a shared schedule that is in use. Pausing a shared schedule provides a way to temporarily freeze a schedule that is used to trigger report processing and subscriptions. Only shared schedules can be paused and resumed. You cannot pause report-specific schedules.

You cannot pause and resume report processing that is in progress. You can only pause and resume schedules that are in the scheduling queue of SQL Server Agent service. A job that is in progress is outside the scope of the scheduling engine.

While a shared schedule is paused, any operations that would have occurred are allowed to lapse. After you resume a shared schedule, report and subscription processing occurs at the next scheduled time, using the local time of the server. The report server does not make up scheduled operations that would have occurred had the schedule not been paused.

To pause or resume a shared schedule

  1. Click Site Actions.

  2. Click Site Settings.

  3. Click Modify All Site Settings.

  4. In the Reporting Services section, click Manage Shared Schedules.

  5. Select the schedule, and click Pause.

All schedules, whether shared or report specific, must be deleted manually. If you delete a shared schedule that is in use, all references to it are replaced with unspecified custom schedules (that is, a custom schedule that does not have date or time information).

Deleting a schedule and causing it to expire are different. An expiration date is used to stop a schedule but does not delete it. Because schedules are used to automate report server operations, they are never deleted automatically. Expired schedules provide evidence to report server administrators as to why an automated process has suddenly stopped. Without the presence of the expired schedule, a report server administrator might misdiagnose the problem or spend unnecessary time trying to troubleshoot a fully functional process.

A custom schedule that has expired remains attached to the report. You can determine if a schedule has expired by checking its end date. An expired shared schedule remains in the Shared Schedules list. The Status field indicates whether the schedule has expired. You can reinstate the schedule by extending the end date, or you can remove the schedule reference if you no longer need it.

To delete a shared schedule

  1. Click Site Actions.

  2. Click Site Settings.

  3. Click Modify All Site Settings.

  4. In the Reporting Services section, click Manage Shared Schedules.

  5. Select the schedule, and click Delete.

Community Additions

ADD
Show:
© 2014 Microsoft