Export (0) Print
Expand All

Creating, Modifying, and Deleting Schedules

SQL Server 2000

Use this topic to learn about creating, modifying, and deleting schedules.

Tools and Steps

To work with schedules, use Report Manager. To view instructions about schedules, click a topic in the following list:

How to create, modify, or delete a custom schedule

How to create, modify, or delete a shared schedule

Requirements

Reporting Services uses SQL Server Agent as the scheduling engine. SQL Server Agent must be running if you want to create a scheduled operation.

How you work with a schedule depends on tasks that are part of your role assignment. If you are using default security, local administrators can create and manage any schedule. If you use custom role assignments, the role assignment must include tasks that support scheduled operations.

To do this Include this task
Create, modify, or delete shared schedules Manage shared schedules
Select shared schedules View shared schedules
Create, modify, or delete report-specific schedules in a user-defined subscription Manage individual subscriptions
Create, modify, or delete report-specific schedules for all other scheduled operations Manage report history, manage all subscriptions, manage reports

For more information about security in Reporting Services, see Using Default Security, Configuring Security Through Role Assignments and Tasks and Permissions.

Creating and Modifying Schedules

Creating and modifying a schedule consists of setting frequency options that determine when the schedule runs.

  • Shared schedules are created as separate items. After they are created, you reference them when defining a subscription or some other scheduled operation.
  • Report-specific schedules are created when you define a subscription or set report execution properties; filling out schedule information is part of defining a subscription or setting properties. To define a report-specific schedule, you open the report or subscription that uses it.

You can create or modify a schedule at any time. However, if a schedule begins to run before your modifications are complete, the earlier version of the schedule is used. The revised schedule does not take effect until you save it.

If you are modifying a shared schedule, you can pause it before you make changes. The changes take effect when you resume the schedule.

Deleting Schedules

All schedules, whether shared or report specific, must be deleted manually. If you delete a shared schedule that is in use, all references to it are replaced with report-specific schedules.

Deleting a schedule and causing it to expire are different. An expiration date is used to stop a schedule but does not delete it. Because schedules are used to automate so many features, they are never deleted automatically. Expired schedules provide evidence to report server administrators as to why an automated process has suddenly stopped. Without the presence of the expired schedule, a report server administrator can misdiagnose the problem or spend unnecessary time trying to troubleshoot a fully functional process.

A report-specific schedule that has expired remains attached to the report. You can determine if a schedule has expired by checking its end date. An expired shared schedules remains in the Shared Schedules list. The Status field indicates whether the schedule has expired. You can reinstate the schedule by extending the end date, or you can remove the schedule reference if you no longer need it.

See Also

Using Schedules

Pausing and Resuming Shared Schedules

Scheduling and Delivery Processor

Show:
© 2014 Microsoft