Socket.EnableBroadcast Property

Gets or sets a Boolean value that specifies whether the Socket can send or receive broadcast packets.

Namespace:  System.Net.Sockets
Assembly:  System (in System.dll)

public bool EnableBroadcast { get; set; }

Property Value

Type: System.Boolean
true if the Socket allows broadcast packets; otherwise, false. The default is false.


This option is valid for a datagram socket only.


The Socket has been closed.

Broadcasting is limited to a specific subnet, and must use User Datagram Protocol (UDP.) For Internet Protocol version 4, you can broadcast to your local subnet by sending a packet to; or you can use the directed broadcast address, which is the network portion of an Internet Protocol (IP) address with all bits set in the host portion. For example, if your IP address is (a Class C address, with a netmask of -- the network portion is the first three octets, and the host portion is the last octet), your directed broadcast address is

Setting this property on a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) socket will have no effect.

The following code example demonstrates the use of the EnableBroadcast property.

        static void ConfigureUdpSocket(Socket udpSocket)
			// set the Don't Fragment flag.
			udpSocket.DontFragment = true;
			// Enable broadcast.
			udpSocket.EnableBroadcast = true;

			// Disable multicast loopback.
			udpSocket.MulticastLoopback = false;

			Console.WriteLine("Udp Socket configured:");
			Console.WriteLine("  DontFragment {0}", 
			Console.WriteLine("  EnableBroadcast {0}", 
			Console.WriteLine("  MulticastLoopback {0}", 

.NET Framework

Supported in: 4.6, 4.5, 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012, Windows 7, Windows Vista SP2, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core Role not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core Role supported with SP1 or later; Itanium not supported)

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

Was this page helpful?
(1500 characters remaining)
Thank you for your feedback
© 2014 Microsoft