Export (0) Print
Expand All

XmlTextWriter.Indentation Property

Gets or sets how many IndentChars to write for each level in the hierarchy when Formatting is set to Formatting.Indented.

Namespace:  System.Xml
Assembly:  System.Xml (in System.Xml.dll)

public int Indentation { get; set; }

Property Value

Type: System.Int32
Number of IndentChars for each level. The default is 2.


Setting this property to a negative value.


Starting with the .NET Framework 2.0, we recommend that you create XmlWriter instances by using the XmlWriter.Create method and the XmlWriterSettings class to take advantage of new functionality.

Indentation is performed on following node types: DocumentType, Element, Comment, ProcessingInstruction, and CDATASection. All other node types are not affected. The XmlTextWriter does not indent the internal DTD subset. However, you could do the following to apply formatting to the internal DTD subset.

 String name = "Employees";
 String pubid = null;
 String sysid = null;
 String subset =
     <!ELEMENT Employees (Employee)+>
     <!ELEMENT Employee EMPTY>
     <!ATTLIST Employee firstname CDATA #REQUIRED>
     <!ENTITY Company 'Microsoft'>]>
 XmlTextWriter tw = new XmlTextWriter(Console.Out);
 tw.WriteDocType(name, pubid, sysid, subset);

The following example writes an XML fragment.

using System;
using System.IO;
using System.Xml;

public class Sample

  public static void Main()
     //Create a writer to write XML to the console.
     XmlTextWriter writer = null;
     writer = new XmlTextWriter (Console.Out);

     //Use indentation for readability.
     writer.Formatting = Formatting.Indented;
     writer.Indentation = 4;

     //Write an element (this one is the root).

     //Write the title element.
     writer.WriteString("Pride And Prejudice");

     //Write the close tag for the root element.

     //Write the XML to file and close the writer.



.NET Framework

Supported in: 4.6, 4.5, 4, 3.5, 3.0, 2.0, 1.1, 1.0

.NET Framework Client Profile

Supported in: 4, 3.5 SP1

Windows 8.1, Windows Server 2012 R2, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012, Windows 7, Windows Vista SP2, Windows Server 2008 (Server Core Role not supported), Windows Server 2008 R2 (Server Core Role supported with SP1 or later; Itanium not supported)

The .NET Framework does not support all versions of every platform. For a list of the supported versions, see .NET Framework System Requirements.

© 2014 Microsoft